Return to A-B

Ann Bannon

Ann Bannon

Ann Bannon is the author of a series of five lesbian pulp novels known as “The Beebo Brinker Chronicles.” Written from 1957 to 1962, the books were bestsellers when they were first released, and have had remarkable longevity, especially for genre fiction. They have been published in five different editions and in several languages, and are often taught in women’s studies and LGBT studies courses.

The books’ popularity and impact have earned Ann Bannon the title of “Queen of Lesbian Pulp Fiction,” as well as numerous awards for pioneering gay and lesbian literature.

A play based on her books has been produced twice in New York and now all over the country, from Boston to Seattle. A TV series is currently under development.



[wpcosupplier id=57]

Permanent link to this article: